Big Stuff

A little reminder why I should ask my children more often what they are thinking about.

We were on our way to pre-school when I noticed MH was a little quieter than usual in the back seat. I peeked in the rearview mirror to find her looking out the window pensively. I whispered, “Hey, you. What are you thinking about?” She slowly turned her head toward me and smiled that familiar smile. “I was just thinking about what I’m going to be when I grow up.”

“Oh?” I asked. “That sounds like big stuff. So, what’s it going to be?”

With an impish twinkle in her eye, she replied, “A tickly doctor.” She paused to let me digest this announcement. “Yes, definitely a tickly doctor!” She put her little hands up to her mouth as if to stifle a laugh.

“That sounds like an important job,” I said. “What does a tickly doctor do?”

“Well, she makes you laugh when you don’t feel good,” she explained. “And when you laugh, you can’t feel bad. That’s how it works.”

“I think you’re on to something,” I said.

“Yup,” she agreed.  After a brief pause, she continued, “You can go to school to become a tickly doctor, too. And then you can work with me for the rest of your life,” she offered.

“I cannot think of anything I’d rather do,” I answered, honestly.

“Good. OK, then,” she said. “Thumbs up?”

“Thumbs up.”

Glad I asked.

4 thoughts on “Big Stuff

  1. I love this!! The world definitely needs more tickly doctors. That’s a co-pay I wouldn’t mind paying
    😉

    This reminds me of the conversation I had recently with Emily. She wants to be a xylophone player!

    If children ruled the world…

Leave a Reply

