Project Kindness (Day 13)

I managed to drag myself out of bed this morning which was no easy task. I slept with my son whose feet were in my ribs most of the night. He is the least well of all of us at this point and he did not rest comfortably. The baby waking up at 3:00 and jumping on the bed in between reading books for the next hour and a half may have had something to do with that. The four oldest Hinsons were still pretty out of it, but the baby seemed in good spirits. We all voted that she got to go to school to play for four hours while we all resumed our places on the couch, loveseat, and bed. Just when I was zipping up MH’s coat, I looked outside where the dog usually tromps around in the morning and does her business. Our geriatric Greyhound was shaking in a strange way and unable to walk. When I went out to investigate, she thrashed around unable to get her feet back underneath her and she looked at me like I was a stranger. It appeared to me that she was having some kind of seizure. A few minutes later, she threw up. I ended up carrying all 70 pounds of her back down the hill and into the house where she plopped back on her bed. Ten minutes later, she got up, walked normally, and acted as if nothing odd had happened whatsoever. If I had more energy, I would take her to the vet. But, unfortunately, I don’t. I would appreciate it very much if she just didn’t do that anymore. At least this week.

My act of kindness today was a little anticlimactic, but under the current circumstances, I’m completely OK with that. It was still a good thing. I loaded up a grocery bag with homemade split pea soup, fresh bread from the oven, and just enough chocolate chip cookies to not feel guilty about eating and dropped off the belated meal to my coworker. (You know, the one I was supposed to deliver the meal to on Friday but completely didn’t.) He was appreciative. Hope they like split pea soup. 

It’s back to the grind for the girls tomorrow. The boys will be staying home one more day. I am going to be kind to myself now and get some much-needed rest. G’night, y’all.

Leave a Reply

