Recovery

I’ve been sitting in a rocking chair holding sweet Mary Hazel for the last three hours. I haven’t moved a muscle. I’ve only watched my daughter breathe deeply and occasionally open her eyes for reassurance that I’m still here. I’m still basking in the unexpectedly good news that the hideously large tumor is gone and that the cancer seems to be removed from her body. We will not have the official pathology report for another few days, but all the doctors here seem pretty confident that Team Mary Hazel is taking home the victory. Sitting here in the quiet afterglow, I’m reminded of the day just over a year ago when MH and I first met. We spent the first full day of her life snuggling in a chair just like this one. Just the two of us. I’m looking forward to being able to nurse her again and comforting her in the ways only a mother can. I’m beyond relieved with the optimistic news and it feels good to breathe again.

Dr. Bryant will keep us posted on the pathology report over the next few days. We will be here about a week.

Here is a before picture:

20110707-052649.jpg

Here is an after:

20110707-052805.jpg

P.S. It’s really hard typing a blog on an iPhone.

8 thoughts on “Recovery

  1. Erin,

    These are WONDERFUL news and amazing pictures. I am so glad that you have beautiful Mary Hazel back in your arms. Get some rest, relax a little now, and thank God for the latest miracle.

    Let me know if I can assist in any way.

  2. It’s hard to believe that just a week ago you were totally ignorant of the cancer at all, yet here we are a week later, and it’s GONE! Just a week to beat it! That’s so amazing to me. We hear all these stories (or even know people personally) of those who has battled with cancer for years and years, but Mary Hazel has been spared that. YOU and the rest of the family have been spared that! It’s GONE!

  3. Erin, I didn’t know what was going on until I saw a post that Shannon had posted wishing Mary Hazel well. I went to your blog and got caught up. My heart, thoughts and prayers are with you all. It sounds like great news that all cancer gone. I pray that it is gone for GOOD! I can’t imagine what you all have been through. I am so sorry that she has been through so much but WOW – all in a week and got it. What a trooper Mary Hazel is! God is good and may he bless you all.
    Angie McCormack

  4. Pingback: Project Kindness (Day 31) | Two Possums and a Bug

Leave a Reply

