Thursday

First of all, we Hinsons are completely overwhelmed by the love and support our friends and family have given to us already during this difficult time. Just when I think I’ve run out of tears for the day, I think about how fortunate we are to be surrounded by such love, and I cry all over again. (Those are happy tears.)

I only have a few minutes, so here’s the quick version of what we found out today.

Mary Hazel most likely has what’s called Wilm’s Tumor. As you can read, it’s a treatable cancer, for which we are infinitely thankful. We will not know with 100% certainty what stage we are dealing with until they remove the tumor. We are scheduled to have another ultrasound in the morning followed by a CT scan so the doctors can get a closer look at where specifically the cancer is and make their best game plan. They are planning to remove her left kidney and start a course of chemotherapy for a year. Depending on the stage of the tumor, radiation might also be needed.

Please hope and pray that the cancer is contained in her kidney and has not spread to her lungs. Please hope and pray that the cancer is isolated in only her left kidney. Please hope and pray that Dr. Bryant and her team will nip this in the bud. Please hope and pray that this poor little girl will be cancer free a year from now.

A million thanks to those who have offered help. We *will* be needing it, I assure you. Transportation, especially, might be an issue as we are currently shopping for a “new to us” car with automatic transmission for Russell to drive. I’m sure Poppy and Charlie will also need some play time and special attention. I will certainly reach out to each of you as we need the support. I’m starting to learn to accept help when I really need it. =)

Thanks, John and Earle, for the snacks. Thanks, Barb and Katie, for the sweet visit. Thanks to Krista, DanDaddy, and Gammer for taking care of the possums today. Thanks to Vanessa for buying us milk. Thanks to everyone for your prayers!

P.S. My favorite memory of the day was watching MH’s face light up when she got to drive the cool firetruck down the hall of the cancer ward. Pure delight! I think she made a lot of friends today.

15 thoughts on “Thursday

  1. We love you guys…We will be deep in prayer for Sweet little bug and the rest of the family. Keep thinking positive thoughts & remember that God is in complete control. We can’t even begin to imagine what you are going through right now. You guys are such a sweet family and I know that you can get through all of this. I know that we live 300 miles away, but let us know if there is anything that we can do. Praying for you. Much love and imaginary hugs. -Jess and Jason

  2. We are happy to take “the Possums” anytime – day or night. My work schedule is ultra flex and we now have pool membership at Stone and Kate adores bigger kids these days.
    Sleep overs could be fun and we certainly have the space.
    Or we can help with Feryn whenever. Just let me know…
    Thoughts are with you, M

  3. wow! I have been praying for y’all today and will keep on praying and keep on praying! Thank you for telling us what the specific prayer requests are, then we feel like we have a “target” so that we can help more specifically, through our prayers!
    I love you!

  4. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family, and your sweet little bug! I’m sure you don’t recognize me, but I’m part of UMOMC and I remember meeting you a couple of times 🙂 I’ll continue to pray for your little miss and for the dr’s who will be treating her, as well as strength for you and your family!!

  5. Erin,
    Don’t know if you remember me…we moved from Greenville 2 years ago, but I was in the UMOM’s with you. Just wanted to let you know that we will be praying hard for you. I can’t even imagine what you are going through, but I will pray for peace and healing and that your little one makes a full recovery.

  6. Ok Mary Hazel, I’ll leave you another message. I’m so happy that mommy told us exactly what we need to pray for. Good to be specific! I love the image of you screaming down the hall in a firetruck. Makes me smile. I pray that God will comfort you through all of this and that even when things get yucky, you will be able to keep smiling. Give your mommy a hug from us.
    Love you,
    Mary Margaret

  7. Erin,

    Our thoughts and prayers are with all of you. Please, let us know if there is anything we can do to help. If you ever need someone to pick up from school this summer we are right around the corner. We will be praying for all of the people providing the very best care to make your baby girl better.

    Much love,
    Lauren

  8. Erin and family,
    I am praying for Mary Hazel, your entire family, and the medical staff working with her. If you need anything at all, please do not hesitate to ask. I may live an hour away, but I can always send gift cards or deliver pizza for you guys. Will continue to life you all up daily.
    Love, Elizabeth Lollis

  9. Erin, I laughed and cried at the image of MH in that firetruck. I can’t begin to imagine how hard yesterday was. So glad there is some good news. We, specifically Cat and lizzie, would love to help with the possums when you need it. I also have a third car (warning – its been well loved) that Russell is welcome to any time. Just say when. We love you guys and are praying. Just say the word when you need help.

  10. Erin and Russell:
    My heart goes out to you. My prayers do too. There was a time when I had to have Abby go through CAT scans and MRI’s and that was such a scary time. Her’s turned out to be nothing, but I remember the feeling and it was horrible.
    Please let me know if there is anything that we can do to help. Your family is in our hearts and prayers.

    • Thanks, Anne, for the kind words. And a big thank you to Bill T. for all the help today! You continue to be wonderful friends!! (Happy Belated Birthday, by the way!)

Leave a Reply

